North Dakota Single Tax Brackets

Tax Year: 2018 | Due Date: April 15, 2019

The North Dakota Single filing status tax brackets are shown in the table below. These income tax brackets and rates apply to North Dakota taxable income earned January 1, 2018 through December 31, 2018.

Tax BracketTax Rate

Residents of North Dakota are also subject to federal income tax rates, and must generally file a federal income tax return by April 15, 2019. Read the North Dakota income tax tables for Single filers published inside the Form 1 Instructions booklet for more information.

What is the North Dakota Single income tax filing status?

There are five filing status available to North Dakota state taxpayers: Single, Married Filing Jointly, Married Filing Separately, Head of Household, and Qualifying Widow. These five filing status are visible as check boxes on both the IRS Form 1040 and the North Dakota Form 1.

Single is the filing type you select if you are not married, do not have children, and have no dependants for example. Filing as Single generally results in paying higher federal and North Dakota state income tax rates compared to the other four filing statuses.

Single status tax payers in most states have a relatively lower standard deduction and fewer family oriented credits available to reduce their income tax liability.

Back to North Dakota Income Tax Rates

Last updated: January 15, 2019